Lactose Free vs Dairy Free

by in Uncategorized, May 19, 2013

There are a variety of non-dairy “milks” and products ranging from “cheese” to “ice cream” to “yogurt” available at most mainstream supermarkets. Depending on your reasons for choosing them in place of conventional cow’s milk, you may need a refresher on the difference between dairy-free and lactose-free products.

Lactose-free milk and milk products are beneficial for people suffering from lactose intolerance. Lactose intolerance is very common, especially in adults. According to the U.S. National Library of Medicine, about 30 million Americans have some degree of lactose intolerance by the age of 20. Lactose is a type of sugar found in milk products. In order to digest lactose properly, the body produces an enzyme called lactase. In people with lactose intolerance, the body stops producing adequate amounts of lactase, causing symptoms such as bloating, gas, cramps, diarrhea and nausea. Individuals with lactose intolerance may find that they are able to eat small amounts of products that contain lactose without experiencing symptoms. Sometimes they may be able to tolerate products such as yogurt or goat’s milk more easily than cow’s milk. Lactase tablets are also available for lactose intolerant individuals to help them digest lactose.

If a product is labeled lactose-free, that does not mean it is necessarily dairy-free. People who seek dairy-free products may be vegan or have an allergy to dairy. Vegans avoid all animal products, including eggs and dairy, for a variety of reasons, including health, religious or ethical views. Individuals with a dairy allergy are allergic to either one or both of the milk proteins, casein and whey. Milk allergies are more common in children and some people grow out of them. Symptoms may include hives, wheezing and vomiting, and in some severe cases, anaphylaxis. The only sure way to avoid an allergic reaction is to avoid all products containing dairy. Vegans and people who have or are caring for someone who has a dairy allergy should become comfortable with reading food labels because whey and casein are often present in unexpected places, including some canned tuna, certain protein powders and some non-dairy cheese products.

When it comes to purchasing lactose-free and diary-free foods, it’s best to read the ingredient list on the food label so you can identify things like casein in a product. However, once you know what ingredients to avoid, it can be fun to try the various lactose- or  dairy-free options your grocery store has available. Experiment with coconut, almond, soy or hemp milks, ice creams and yogurts like So Delicious products (a personal favorite; I avoid diary due to lactose intolerance) which offer a variety of dairy-free frozen dessert options, as well as milk and yogurt options and Silk products which offer a variety of dairy free milk options. There are also a variety of sliced, shredded and cream cheese products available like those  from GoVeggie! which come  in lactose-free and dairy-free options which are color labeled depending on the line. This makes for easy, worry-free purchasing.

What are your favorite lactose-free or diary -free products?


More posts from .

Similar Posts

The Skinnytaste Cookbook: Light on Calories, Big on Flavor

What does skinny taste like? Just ask Gina Homolka. For six years, low-fat foodie Gina Homolka has been satisfying the tastebuds of a loyal following ...

Comments (42)

  1. Say, you got a nice blog article.Really looking forward to read more. Want more.

  2. beast123 says:

    Some truly fantastic information, Glad I discovered this.

  3. CKJLZQPi says:


    Lactose Free vs Dairy Free | Healthy Eats – Food Network Healthy Living Blog…

  4. Google says:

    Here is a great Blog You might Find Intriguing that we encourage you to visit.

  5. louboutins3 says:

    Generally I don’t learn post on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to

  6. […] realize until reading the label immediately after purchase (wrong order of actions, guys) that lactose-free does not mean dairy-free. That was news to me, sadly. The mac and cheese still contains casein, which is an addictive and […]

  7. Rose says:

    Pumpkin Pie recipe from Libby's calls for evaporated milk. I want to use Lactaid 2% how do I make it evaporated

    • Roberto De Leon says:

      You can use an equal volume of Lactaid 2% milk. Or, you could buy Lacteeze drops from Amazon, mix each can with about 15 drops (pour in a resealable container and shake well!) and keep in the refrigerator for 48 hours. The resulting milk will be very close to 100% lactose free.

  8. Steve says:

    Hello. We are a small seafood company located in Coos Bay, Oregon trying to create dairy free, non GMO, gluten free seafood chowder and bisque. But, we need help. We have launched a kickstarter project to fund the development of these products.
    Would you mind looking the project over and telling me what you think? I believe there is a strong need to allow those with lactose intolerance to enjoy seafood.
    Any help you can give will be appreciated.

    Thank you,

  9. FuzzyPeach73 says:

    Daiya appears to be a good casein-free brand (I am either allergic or highly sensitive to casein). A lot of the "dairy free" cheese alternatives still have casein in them….go figure. Daiya smells a little interesting, but tastes amazing! I have used it in everything from Mexican cuisine to salads to main dishes. My toddler loves it too, so I can simpy make 1 dish for us instead of 2. Avoid most lunchmeats, and ALWAYS check the labels on your meat! They put casein in meat a lot to act as a preservative and make it easier to slice. Often it can be found in pork, ham, and whole poultry. I LOVE So Delicious and Silk products. All of their products are guaranteed to be completely 100% dairy free (no casein, whey, or lactose). :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>